Memoriam

A few of my favorite quotes from the movie Toy Story 3:

“I’m Andy. Someone told me you’re really good with toys. These are mine, but I’m going away now. So I need someone really special to play with them.”

“Now Woody… he’s been my pal as long as I can remember. He’s brave, like a cowboy should be, and kind and smart. But the thing that makes Woody special is that he’ll never give up on you. Ever. He’ll be there for you, no matter what. You think you can take care of him for me?”

“You gotta promise to take good care of these guys. They mean a lot to me.”

To the guy I recently sold my acoustic guitar to:

You may think you got a killer deal on a quality instrument. You’re darned right you did. There’s no reasonable price point to ever quantify the memories that went along with “that so-so sounding thing”. That little guitar had been my constant companion through ups (when I was so happy I wanted to play as loud as I could), downs (when I was so upset I wanted to play as loud as I could) and everything in between.

I remember stubbing my fingers because of how hard I’d play when I was visibly agitated. Those were probably not my most shining moments, but they taught me patience, and how not to do anything impulsively out of anger. I remember moments where I wanted to cry my eyes out (but didn’t because I was never the emotional type and because I didn’t want anyone feeling sorry for me) and holed myself up in my room, playing whatever came into mind. Those times taught me to “play on” and how things always turn out for the best in the end, even if we don’t see the results immediately. I remember the bedroom jams I’d have in front of my computer and how those taught me that the truly heartfelt things seldom needed words to express them.

Just like Andy, I didn’t fall out of love with my toy; I had simply outgrown it. A poser I could outplay with one hand smart guy like you can probably tell the difference. So if I find out from anyone I know how you’re mistreating my guitar and chopping it up for firewood, I will hunt you down, take my guitar back, and make your spine my wall trophy.

Believe me, I’ll find ways

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

