Anniversary

*because a good, good friend of mine requested that this be put out in all blogs that I have currently, present and future. and because I’m an idiot and keep putting off stuff, I’m posting this almost 3 months late ;) It isn’t a long stretch to say I’m neglecting this blog, and all other social media outlets under my jurisdiction. But that’s another story (and blog entry) in itself ;) *

Last June marked my one year anniversary of entering young adult life. That is to say that I finally got off my lazy behind and got a job to pay my bills at home (as nice as my parents are to me, they weren’t about to fund my various guitar projects with their own money). I wasn’t alone: Facebook was bursting with status updates, pictures and hashtags (yes, apparently Facebook now does hashtags) from my other workmates as we celebrated, albeit online, the fact that we had all managed to together survive the ups and downs of being gainfully employed.

I’m sure that all the tears, laughs and temper tantrums that had been shared between all of us had made us better people. It’d be a crying shame if it didn’t. I have a deeply respected mentor who was often chagrined when people began celebrating anniversaries. It wasn’t the making merry and having fun that got on his nerves; it was when these became the only reason for celebrating anniversaries. Anniversaries, he often said, were times for looking back, distilling whatever we could from looking back, and moving on. Otherwise, we’d be stuck in a cycle of “eating the same sweet-style spaghetti and singing the same sappy songs” year in and year out.

I get where he’s coming from, and can certainly see the necessity for “looking over your shoulder”. Anniversaries are great, celebrating with friends is great, and laughing over what transpired during the year is great. But to fail to ask what the year taught us in passing? That’s kind of overlooking the entire point of the anniversary, isn’t it? If a company celebrates its 50th anniversary, the huge commemoration of the event should go hand in hand with a sobering note that hard work, blood, sweat and tears were given out for this company to keep on existing. Dumb luck won’t keep anyone’s business afloat for that long. If a couple celebrates their silver wedding anniversary, they need to look back and remember that to keep the marriage going until death does them part, they need to commit to loving each other, even when there are times that’s not so simple to do.

To my workmates who are reading this (and even to those who aren’t), it’s great that we’ve been on the company’s payroll for a year already. Let’s not forget the implicit lesson that, being tenured workers, much more will be expected from us. Let’s not shy away from the challenges, even when they seem insurmountable. What doesn’t kill us only makes us stronger.

As for me, I spent anniversary night writing this article and editing another one for my sideline work. Go figure, the year has taught me what my priorities are (and hopefully I don’t need to hashtag anything on Facebook to emphasize my point).

 

Yep.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

